2024 IPL Final – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) clinched their third IPL title with a dominant performance against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the IPL 2024 final. The match, held on May 26, 2024, at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, saw KKR winning by 8 wickets with a substantial 57 balls to spare.

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders Full Match

SRH, after choosing to bat first, struggled significantly. Key players like Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma were dismissed in the early overs, setting a tough stage for SRH. Andre Russell was instrumental in dismantling the SRH lineup, taking 3 wickets for 19 runs. Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana also contributed effectively, each taking 2 wickets. As a result, SRH was bowled out for just 113 runs in 18.3 overs, with Pat Cummins top-scoring with 24 runs.

In response, KKR chased down the target with ease. Despite losing Sunil Narine early, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (39) and Venkatesh Iyer (52*) led the charge. Venkatesh Iyer’s explosive innings ensured KKR reached the target in just 10.3 overs​.

This victory marks the end of a decade-long wait for KKR to reclaim the IPL trophy, adding to their previous titles won in 2012 and 2014

Here’s the detailed scorecard for the IPL 2024 final between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH):

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Innings

Travis Headc Gurbaz b Starc0300
Abhishek Sharmac Rana b Starc4510
Aiden Markramc Starc b Russell201930
Heinrich Klaasenb Rana162210
Abdul Samadc Gurbaz b Russell6910
Pat Cumminsc Starc b Russell242130
Shahbaz Ahmedc Narine b Chakaravarthy121710
Marco Jansenlbw b Rana7610
Bhuvneshwar Kumarnot out5800
T Natarajanc Iyer b Rana81000
Umran Malikb Narine0100
Extras(b 1, lb 8, w 2)11
Total(all out, 18.3 overs)113

Fall of Wickets

1-4 (Head, 0.3 ov), 2-10 (Sharma, 1.3 ov), 3-40 (Markram, 6.1 ov), 4-48 (Samad, 8.1 ov), 5-56 (Klaasen, 10.1 ov), 6-76 (Jansen, 13.2 ov), 7-97 (Ahmed, 16.2 ov), 8-105 (Cummins, 17.2 ov), 9-113 (Natarajan, 18.2 ov), 10-113 (Malik, 18.3 ov)

Bowling – KKR

Mitchell Starc40142
Andre Russell40193
Harshit Rana40272
Varun Chakaravarthy30231
Sunil Narine3.30211

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Innings

Rahmanullah Gurbazc Samad b Ahmed392841
Sunil Narinec Jansen b Cummins8511
Venkatesh Iyernot out522663
Nitish Rananot out11420
Extras(lb 1, w 3)4
Total(2 wickets, 10.3 overs)114

Fall of Wickets

1-16 (Narine, 1.3 ov), 2-100 (Gurbaz, 8.5 ov)

Bowling – SRH

Pat Cummins20181
Bhuvneshwar Kumar30220
T Natarajan20310
Marco Jansen20210
Shahbaz Ahmed1.30221

KKR won by 8 wickets with 57 balls to spare

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *